Office Christmas Party

I braced myself, preparing for the worst, when I went in to see this movie.  Why? Because comedies have become either the worst of cliches one after another OR have launched into a new sub-genre of how-gross-and-disgusting-can-we-be? This movie managed to be laugh-out-loud (pardon my cliche) funny at multiple moments throughout the movie. I will also say that I have a rule about comedies… I don’t expect them to be realistic. The point of any comedy is to entertain and get some laughs. To expect a comedy to be realistic would be asinine and pointless.  Those wanting real should probably choose a documentary instead.

The plot was well-planned and well-stated (for a comedy).  The spur of the moment decision to do the party actually seemed well thought out by those involved in the production of the movie. The party going wildly wrong and becoming an out-of-control rager came together quite nicely.  For being a movie about chaos and last-minute planning, it was surprisingly organized. Now, let’s be clear: the basic premise consists of a jealous sister looking for a reason to shut down the branch run by her golden-boy brother. Brother has to do something miraculous to save his branch and workers.  So right there, folks, we have a cheesy movie.  For being such a goof-fest, though, I was impressed. With comedies, I’m hard to please.  I’d give this movie probably 7 stars out of ten.

The cast very clearly played a huge role in the success of the movie.  Seasoned actors such as Jason Bateman and Jennifer Aniston coming together with comedians T.J. Miller (known for his role in Deadpool and Big Hero 6, among other hits) and Kate McKinnon (SNL veteran) guaranteed laughs and fun-loving moments.

Over all, I was surprised the movie didn’t receive higher ratings.  Comedies notoriously receive lower reviews than, say, a good drama or love story (The Notebook, anyone??) but this comedy beckons everyone to come see it.  I strongly recommend answering that call of duty and going to see this movie.  If nothing else, you will be entertained.

Leave a comment